WELCOME TO THE VILLAGE OF CARDIGAN
Cardigan is a small picturesque community situated on the banks of the Cardigan River on east coast of Prince Edward Island, the smallest province of Canada.
Cardigan was named by the British in 1765 after George Brudenell, the fifth Earl of Cardigan. The Mi'kmaq, who had been here first, named the area “Samkook” meaning “a sandy shore”.
The first settlers, mostly from Great Britain, arrived in the area in the early 1800s. At first known as “Cardigan Bridge”, the community thrived thanks to the shipbuilding industry, the lumber trade, and trade of potatoes, grains and other
produce with England.The village of Cardigan is rich in history. It was a main shipbuilding community in the 19th century. The construction of the Island railway in the 1870s lead to the establishment of several stores,
manufacturers and residential subdivisions.
Today, the primary industries in Cardigan are manufacturing and fishing. Cardigan is well known for its mussels and clams, and is a favoured destination for many
visitors. We hope to see you at our marina and heritage center this summer! Take a stroll on our walking and biking trail and or drop in to sample the fresh produce at our farmer’s market.
Browse our site to learn more about our community and the services it offers to residents, businesses and tourists.
“Come explore the heritage of
our shipbuilding community”
TOPS meets Tuesdays at 6 for 6:30 p.m. in the village complex
Three Rivers Seniors group meets the 2nd Wednesday of every month at 1:30 p.m. The group will not meet for July and August.